The Mesmer Menace

The Mesmer Menace Welcome to the Amazing Automated Inn home of twelve year old inventor Wally Kennewickett his genius scientist parents and his dashing dog Noodles From the lightning harvester on the roof to the la

  • Title: The Mesmer Menace
  • Author: Kersten Hamilton James Hamilton
  • ISBN: 9780547905686
  • Page: 239
  • Format: Hardcover
  • Welcome to the Amazing Automated Inn, home of twelve year old inventor Wally Kennewickett, his genius scientist parents, and his dashing dog, Noodles From the lightning harvester on the roof to the labs full of experiments in the dungeon, the inn is a wonderful place for a curious boy and his loyal dog to live That is, until President Theodore Roosevelt himself calls theWelcome to the Amazing Automated Inn, home of twelve year old inventor Wally Kennewickett, his genius scientist parents, and his dashing dog, Noodles From the lightning harvester on the roof to the labs full of experiments in the dungeon, the inn is a wonderful place for a curious boy and his loyal dog to live That is, until President Theodore Roosevelt himself calls the elder Kennewicketts away, leaving Wally and Noodles to face the evil Mesmers, horrible hypnotists bent on controlling the minds of powerful people It seems the inn is their first stop on the way to world domination and only an ingenious boy, a staff of automatons, and a brave dachshund stand in their way

    • È The Mesmer Menace || ☆ PDF Read by ☆ Kersten Hamilton James Hamilton
      239 Kersten Hamilton James Hamilton
    • thumbnail Title: È The Mesmer Menace || ☆ PDF Read by ☆ Kersten Hamilton James Hamilton
      Posted by:Kersten Hamilton James Hamilton
      Published :2018-08-25T01:45:55+00:00

    1 thought on “The Mesmer Menace”

    1. This book is great for the kids. Adventure from a dogs perspective! Through in some science and steampunk and a dachshund's best friend and we get The Mesmer Menace! When I first started this I was pleasantly surprised to be getting the story through Noodles' eyes. Very unique and fun and lighthearted. The President presents himself to the Kennewickett family for assistance. Yet while the adults are away Noodle's and his human, Wally have their own villian they must stop! Each character is very [...]

    2. A fun book using big words although the clever dachshund narrarator explains them. Noodles is Wally's dog and best friend. Wally's parents Oliver and Calypso are brilliant inventors, as is Wally. But Wally's cousins live with them and dislike Wally and Noodles. So Noodles keeps a close eye on them to keep Wally safe.

    3. Wally is a 12 year-old son science genius whose parents run an inn and are also inventors. Wally and his dachshund Noodles must save the world from the evil Mesmers who are trying to take over the world through mind control. This is a fun, light reading book for elementary/middle school age children. I particularly enjoyed how the story was told from the viewpoint of the dog--a creative, fun narrative style that added a lot of humor.

    4. A fluffy steampunk romp with flair, in which a young genius scientist, following in the footsteps of his derring-do and brilliance-filled parents, protects the world from a curious hypnotic superweapon. Amusing setting, cute dog, some interesting twists and turns and a fun appearance of Teddy Roosevelt.

    5. The Mesmer Menace: Gadgets and Gears is the first book in a new series for middle grade reader written by Kersten Hamilton and illustrations by James Hamilton. The Amazing Automated Inn is home of twelve-year-old inventor Wally Kennewickett, his genius scientist parents, his dashing dog Noodles, and a pair of snobby cousins. There is a lightning harvester on the roof and labs full of experiments in the dungeon. The inn is the perfect place for a curious boy and his loyal dog to live. Then Presid [...]

    6. You could also read this review on my blog:theoutrageousjourney.weeblyI receiv an Arc for this book in an exchange of an honest review.Gadgets and Gears is book one of The Mesmer Menace children's fiction series. Our narrator is a Dachshund, yes , a dog ! And as if that is not exciting enough, the dog, Noodles, lives with Walter ,his parents, the Kennewickett's, and his annoying cousins. But, it is not just a typical family; Walter and his parents are inventors! They are so good at what they do, [...]

    7. Summary:The story is narrated by Noodles, an adorable Dachshund, who is loyal to Wally Kennewickett, a twelve-year-old inventor. The two live in the family's Amazing Automated Inn, where automatons staff and run the inn, and the basement is a laboratory. The Kennewickett's are brilliant inventors and are often called away to solve problems. In this tale, President Roosevelt calls upon Wally's mom and dad to help solve the case of evil Mesmers controlling the minds of very powerful people. The on [...]

    8. Oliver and Calypso Kennewickett are famous scientists and because of their intelligence President Theodore Roosevelt seeks their help in uncovering the problem of the Mesmers (or magicians) that are hypnotizing important people. However, things take a completely different turn when the problem comes to the Automated Inn after Wally's parents leave to help the President. So it is up to Wally and Noodles (the dachshund) to save the day.I liked that the story was actually told from Noodles' perspec [...]

    9. noranydroptoread/2014/02/0If you’ve been desperate for middle-grade fiction with a steampunk theme, told from a dog’s point of view, look no further! Lilah and I enjoyed GADGETS AND GEARS, the first in the series THE MESMER MENACE narrated by a dachshund named Noodles and chronicling the 1902 adventures of Wally Kennewickett in his inventor parents’ Automated Inn. Lilah was particularly delighted that Wally’s dog serves as narrator. I was skeptical at first, but Hamilton pulls it off ver [...]

    10. Wally Kennewickett is the son of two scientific geniuses living in The Amazing Automated Inn in the early 1900’s. The story is narrated by Wally’s dachshund Noodles, who explains difficult concepts and technologies through his puppy perspective. One day, Theodore Roosevelt arrives at the inn, begging them to help stop a secret society known as the Mesmers. The Mesmers have developed technologies to hypnotize world leaders and control their minds! The family must use their inventions to stop [...]

    11. The Mesmer Menace takes place during the Fall of 1902 in the Automation Inn.A group of evil magicians are controlling people by hypnotizing them. The protagonist of the novel is a dachshund named Noodles. His owner Wally is an aspiring scientist who lives with His mother, Calypso who is a scientist, and his father, Oliver who also happens to be a scientist. Wally's mother and father leave on government business and leave Wally to watch the house.This book is told by the dog which is really nice. [...]

    12. Lemony Snicket meets steampunk in this new historical fantasy series by Kersten Hamilton. In The Mesmer Menace, Wally and his faithful sidekick, Noodles the dachshund, must figure out a way to defeat the evil Mesmers - magicians who are bent on controlling the minds of the world's leaders - before they are able to capture the president, Theodore Roosevelt. Filled with automatons, hypnotic pigeons, and a courageous canine, this is sure to appeal to young readers making the transition from early c [...]

    13. Hamilton, Kersten The Mesmer Menace (Gadgets and Gears), 132 pages. Clarion (Houghton), 2013. $17. Content: G (tense, but clean).In a book narrated by a dachshund, Wally, his parents, and their inn automatons try to thwart the evil plans of the Mesmers, who are attempting to gain control of American leaders through hypnotism.Too bad this book was all over the place. There is too much stuffed into it to be able to sort it all out. And I wasn’t thrilled by the dog being the narrator, as it is an [...]

    14. The Amazing Automated Inn is the perfect home for twelve-year-old inventor Wally Kennewickett and his dog Noodles. Filled with science labs and run by an automaton staff, tourists are drawn to the Inn and its innovations. Trouble arises when the evil Mesmers try to take over the Inn (and eventually the world) with their mind controlling hypnosis. Will Wally and Noodles be able to stop their evil plan?This children’s steampunk adventure novel is perfect for elementary readers. The vocabulary is [...]

    15. The Mesmer Menace book #1 is perfect. It has the right blend of creative, exciting adventure combined with great pictures to keep a reader's interest to the end. Characters are well fleshed out and quirky. Plenty of foreshadowing keeps young minds wondering about what will come next. The story is told from the dog's point of view. Noodles uses a great vocabulary, defining the new words as he goes along. The introduction of Teddy Roosevelt and Nicola Tesla adds interest as do all of the invention [...]

    16. This book is great for middle school age kids even though the chapters and reading isn't very challenging and elementary aged kids would be able to read it as well. There are pictures to help guide the story for children who might struggle with reading but want to feel like they can read with the rest of their class.My so love this book because it was different way of telling a story though the dog and I was able to tell him what steampunk is and that was exciting for a mom. Advance Copy from Ne [...]

    17. Twelve-year-old Wally Kennewickett lives with his brilliant inventor parents and several automatons as well as his beloved dachshund, Noodles. A secret surprise visit from Teddy Roosevelt alerts the family to the threat of hypnotists who intend to control the minds of those in power. With his parents on the trail of the Mesmers, Wally is left behind with his arrogant cousins to contend with some trickery. The fact that the book, part of a planned series, is narrated by his dog provides a unique [...]

    18. This was a really fun book. I loved the steam punk aspect and all the gadgets and robots that helped run the Amazing Automated Inn. Our storyteller, a cute little dachsund named Noodle, was such a great voice. I loved how his thoughts really brought the story to life and added a bit of comedy at times. When the mesmers come to invade the inn, it's up to Noodle and his owner to try and save them. Their creativity and bravery was great to watch.*I received this book in exchange for an honest revie [...]

    19. Narrated by an awesome dachshund named Noodles! I don't normally like junior books, but this one was great! Love it! One of my favourite lines narrated by Noodles: "The desire to rule the world appears to be the first symptom of a malfunctioning mind." This quote is about an automaton named Jeeves who went crazy @~@

    20. Fast read! And who doesn't want to read a book from the point of view of a dachshund. I loved the new vocab, and the amazing abundance of alliteration throughout the story. the plot was a bit rushed through, but for quick bit amusement you can beat it. A fun adventure full of cool gadgets, gizmos, and greedy magicians, I look forward to the final artwork and the sequel.

    21. Steampunk meets easy chapter book mystery! Narrated by a dog with Sherlock Holmesian vocabulary, this book features a favorite adventurous president, automatons, and pigeons. Nice beginning to a unique new series.

    22. Told from the perspective of a dog, this book could definitely be used to teach point of view to students. Full of wonderful, colorful vocabulary, this adventure-like book would be easily enjoyed by voracious young readers over the age of eight.

    23. I think this book will be great for kids. The drawings (even when they aren't final yet) are adorable. For me, I couldn't connect with the POV, which is a dog. It just made it hard and I don't think this MG is very suitable for most adults.

    24. Recommended. Better than expected. Steampunk. Emerging readers / Elementary grades. Series: Gadgets & GearsReadalikes: Molly Moon series / Georgia ByngThe Inquisitor's Apprentice / Chris Morarity

    25. Mix a boy scientist with some history and adventure, add steampunk elements and a trusty dog and you end up with a delightful book to enjoy with your children.*Book provided by Netgalley in exchange for an honest review*

    26. Really cute start to what should be a fun series. Steampunk for the young set - all told by a dachshund. Inventors, evil geniuses, automatons and more!

    27. A fun, fast read that sits somewhere between steampunk and dieselpunk (electropunk?). It's a charming juvenile pulp adventure that champions science and reason, curiosity and creativity.

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *